Re-discovering Crochet

I learned how to crochet in my senior year of high school when I had the opportunity to take my favorite class of my high school career: Creative Crafts. Our teacher also taught us how to knit, but I was terrible at it and quickly showed preference to crochet (though I may give knitting a second chance in the future). This year when I was back in the US for my annual visit, I bought a turquoise scarf. Unfortunately, there was no matching hat to go with it, so I dug up my old crochet hook and went to my favorite Ben Franklin’s to buy some yarn. I found this pattern online and decided to try my hand at the puff stitch. This video was really helpful when I was trying to figure out how to do the puff stitch (though the hat pattern is not the same).

The only thing I did differently than the pattern was that I used worsted weight yarn instead of extra-fine (I bought 7 oz/198 g but I didn’t use it all). Because of this, I ended up having to do less increasing rounds than the pattern stipulated (9 instead of 13).

Here is the final result:

Puff Stitch Crochet Hat

Puff Stitch Crochet Hat

I’ve been on a crochet binge ever since I made this hat, so I’ve got several projects waiting in the wings. Stay tuned for more crochet fun!

Allison

Pour mes lecteurs français : Voir la rubrique “Crafting Links” pour des liens vers des lexiques de crochet français/anglais.

One thought on “Re-discovering Crochet

Leave a Reply

