Drapey Infinity Scarf

Hello fellow crafters!

My next crochet project was inspired by a scarf on the Jolie Cocotte blog called the “Cocoon,” but being the crafter that I am, I decided to make it myself (Ok I’ll admit it: I was also motivated by the fact that making it myself was significantly cheaper). The only problem was that there was no pattern. I wasn’t going to let that stop me though! I decided to just make it up as I went along. Here is a good video for learning how to do a double crochet stitch, which is the main stitch used in this piece.

Here is how it turned out:

Drapey Infinity Scarf

Here is my make-shift pattern for the henceforth named “Drapey Infinity Scarf” (for lack of a better name):

Hook size: J

Yarn weight: Light worsted – worsted weight (France size 4 – I’m not sure if that is the same as the US size 4)

Yarn amount:  about 125 grams (4.5 oz) for the body and 25 grams (<1 oz) for the wrap

Stitches used: 

Ch = Chain

Dc = Double crochet

Sc =  Single crochet

Scarf body:

Chain 60 – 80 (shorter/longer according to your length preference) – join to work in the round (or wait to join at the end if you prefer)

Round 1: Chain 3, double crochet in 4th chain, and then in every other chain until the end – join if you are working in the round

Round 2-29: Chain 3, double crochet in the 2nd stitch and each stitch after that – join if you are working in the round

(optional: Double crochet increase in every 10th stitch to make scarf gradually larger)

Tie off and weave in ends

Scarf wrap:

Chain (about) 200 (or more/less according to how chunky you want it to be)

Round 1: Chain 1, single crochet in second chain and in every other chain until the end

Tie off and weave in ends

Wind the “wrap” around the seam of the scarf as many times as necessary. You can either just tuck the ends underneath or sew them in place.

Et voilà !

…and for those of you familiar with the book “If you give a moose a muffin“: If a crafter makes a scarf, they’re going to want a hat to go with it! Stay tuned for the matching hat! (I just couldn’t resist).

Allison

10 thoughts on “Drapey Infinity Scarf

  1. Love it! My mom taught me to crochet the summer after I moved to New York because I was bored! Then I picked it up again last winter and started making random stuff for people. This scarf is awesome!

  2. Pingback: Slouchy Hat | allison craftland

  3. Hello Allison,
    I’m Jolie Cocotte from France ! That’s amazing to read my name in your blog.
    Your scarf is a good work 😉 but be careful with the copy…
    Jennifer

    • Bonjour Jennifer,
      J’espère que cela ne vous dérange pas que j’ai tenté de re-créer votre écharpe. Je la trouvais tellement jolie que ça m’a donné envie d’essayer de la reproduire moi-même. Ne vous inquiétez pas, je ne compte pas la vendre ! C’est aussi pour cette raison que j’ai crédité votre site en mettant ma version sur mon blog.
      😉
      Allison

  4. Hi Allison,
    I love this scarf and have been trying to make it (4 attempts so far), but I am having trouble with joining in the round. I have YouTubed it and can’t find a comparable DC infinity scarf tutorial. When I join (stop a row) and then start the new row, I’m not sure where to insert the hook. Also I have noticed by row 6 it appears the scarf is getting shorter?! The original chain after joining hit around my hips but slowly as I add more rows, ends up around my navel?! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

    • Hi Tammie! Sorry to hear that you are having such a hard time with this one! I found this video that I hope will help you. I would go straight to 3:50 that is where she shows how to join (keep in mind that she seems to be making some sort of hat and not a scarf, but the way that you join in the same).

      If your scarf is getting smaller, you are probably skipping the last stitch on each row. Make sure that you are crocheting all the way until the end.

      Hope that helps! Let me know if you are still having issues with it.

Leave a Reply

