Button Bonnet

And my obsession with making matching accessories continues! After making the “Two Button Cowl” I had a bunch of yarn left over (and an extra button!), so one lazy Sunday I decided to make a matching hat. So I browsed ravelry (for those of you that don’t know this website – I highly recommend it for knitting/crochet pattern ideas) for a little while until I stumbled upon this gem and I knew it was exactly what I had been searching for.

The pattern was fairly easy to follow, but I found that I had to adapt it a little. Maybe it is because I was using 2 light weight yarn strands instead of 1 bulky weight strand? I’m not sure. In any case I was able to easily adjust the pattern and it turned out nicely.

Check it out:

Button Bonnet

I have copied the pattern below (with my adjustments):

Hook size: 10 mm (I know, I know! I have already used this size!! But don’t worry, the challenge is still on)

Yarn weight: Light worsted (France size 3)

Yarn amount:  <50 g if working with 1 strand of yarn (or <100 g if working with 2)

Stitches Used:

Ch = Chain

Dc = Double crochet

Hdc = Half double crochet

Sc =  Single crochet

Sl st = Slip stitch

Base of hat:

Ch3 using 2 strands of yarn, sl st into first chain to create a ring.
Round 1: ch 1, work sc, hdc, 6 dc in ring. Do not join the round. 
Round 2: Work 2 dc into the first st (mark the first of these two stitches with a marker to indicate the
beginning of the second round), 2 dc in next 7 st.
Round 3: *2dc in next dc, dc in next dc* Repeat from * to * around, reach the marker.
Round 4: *2dc in next dc, dc in next 2 dc* Repeat from * to * around, reach the marker.
Round 5: *2dc in next dc, dc in next 3 dc* Repeat from * to * around, reach the marker.
Round 6-10: dc in each dc around, reach the marker. (This is where I modified the pattern as in the original there was only 2 rounds of this. I found that that hat was not long enough, so I continued. I suggest that you continue this until the hat is the length that you want, as the following rounds will be the ‘flap’ that comes up on the hat and don’t add much in the way of length to the hat. When you have the length that you want, stop doing rounds and turn as you would in a piece not working in the round.)

Flap:

Row 11: ch 2 and dc in next stitch, dc in next 15 dc, hdc in next 11 dc, sc in next 7 dc, sl st in next 8 dc,
turn.
Row 12: sl st in next 10 st, sc in next 10 st, hdc in next 12 st, dc until the end, turn.
Row 13: ch 2 and dc in next stitch, dc in next 11 st, hdc in next 11 st, sc in next 8 st, sl st in next 6 st.
Fasten off and weave in loose ends with the yarn needle.

Don’t worry if the numbers are not exactly right. I somehow ended up with more stitches than the original pattern indicated, and I’m not sure if that was my fault or if the pattern wasn’t exact, but it turned out fine none-the-less!

This hat is extremely warm: I may just have to make myself another one in another color! I love it! Hope you enjoy it as well. (As always, if it is not clear, send me a message. I’d be happy to help!)

Allison

Leave a Reply

