Crochet Cable Scarf

Since I’ve already made myself an outrageous amount of scarves this winter, I decided it was time I stop being so selfish and make something for someone else.  I’ve been wanting to try out some new crochet stitches, so I decided to try out crochet cables. It was harder than I thought it would be. I must have ripped out the first row about 4 times before I got it right! For this reason, I decided to try and take some pictures in an attempt to make things easier for those of you that would like to try out cables for the first time. (I ended up making 2 scarves using this pattern, which explains why some of the photos show blue yarn and some show red.)

Here is how the red one turned out (I’m not done with the blue one yet, but I’ll put up pictures when I finished it):

Cable Scarf

Crochet Cable Scarf pattern:

Yarn weight: light worsted (France size 4)

Yarn amount: about 150 g

Hook size: 6 mm (Crochet Hook Challenge: 4/14)

Stitches used:

Ch = Chain

Dc = Double crochet

Fptc = Front post treble crochet (See this link for a video on how to do this stitch)

Bpdc = Back post double crochet (See this link for a video on how to do this stitch or for those of you that prefer written instructions, click here.)

Ch 19

Row 1: Dc in 4th st and all others.

Row 2 (front of cable): Ch 3, 3 dc, skip 4 stitches (Note: it is easier if you count the posts since the next stitch is a front post treble.) Fptr stitches on the 5th post and the 3 following ones. Go back to the first stitch that you skipped (the 5th stitch from the beginning). Fptr in that stitch and the 3 following ones. Skip the 4 fptr that you did previously and go directly to the 4th stitch from the end. Dc in that stitch and the 3 following ones.

Cables - 1

(Please note: If you do not have 4 stitches at the end, you may have made a mistake in round one, for example you may not have started your dc in the 4th stitch. Another possibility is that you did not count right and you may have skipped more/less stitches when you went to do your first fptr. If that is the case, I would suggest starting over. Once you get these first two rows done, the rest will be much easier, I promise!!)

Row 3 (back of cable): Ch3, bpdc in 8 fptr stitches, 4 dc

Repeat rows 2 & 3 until you reach the desired length.

Final Row: Ch 3, dc in all stitches.

Tie off and weave in ends.

Here is a picture of the front after repeating rounds 2 & 3 a few times:

Cables - front

Here is a picture of the back after repeating rounds 2 & 3 a few times:

Cables - back

Here is a top view of the back after repeating rounds 2 & 3 a few times:

Cables - back (top view)

If this sounds like gibberish to you, I would recommend checking out this video. Although it is sometimes hard to see what she is doing, after watching it several times I ended up getting the hang of it, so I’m sure you will too. ‘Keep in mind that in her pattern she is doing cables of 4 stitches wide while in my pattern they are 8 stitches wide. Other than that, the process is the same.)

So I hope that you found this to be helpful! If not, don’t hesitate to send me a message.

Allison

4 thoughts on “Crochet Cable Scarf

Leave a Reply

