Maxi Shrug

I had so much fun making (and wearing!) my Poncho, that I decided to make another clothing item before winter is over. I saw a bunch of patterns for shrugs, but they were either too simple (just sc or dc shrugs) or they were not free patterns (like this shrug which ended up being my main inspiration). Even though that last pattern is only $5, it is just against my principles to buy a pattern. I prefer to make my own up if need be. What I liked about the pattern was the X-stitch,so I decided to use that idea but with my own little twist. In her pattern, it looks as though she does 4 rows of double crochet and then 2 rows of X-stitch. I switched it up a little bit (see the pattern below), and I am pretty satisfied with the results!

Here is how it turned out:

maxi_shrug_official

Maxi Shrug Pattern:

Hook size: 7 mm (Crochet Hook Challenge: 5/14)

Yarn weight: France size 5 (Chunky, Craft yarn)

Yarn amount: 500 g

Stitches used:

Ch = Chain

Dc = Double crochet

Tr = Triple crochet

Pattern:

Ch 117 or until your chain is approximately 48 inches (122 cm) long. This will be the length of your shrug (top to bottom). For a shorter shrug, chain less. Note that I am 5’8″ (1.73 m) tall, so if you’re shorter you may want to consider adapting the length of your initial chain. As mentioned in my other patterns, it is important not to chain too tightly or your work will end up “pulling.” If necessary, do the chain with a bigger crochet hook and then do the rest with the correct size.

R1: Dc in 3rd chain and all others for a total of 114 stitches (Please note: For this pattern it is important that you always maintain an even number of stitches. If you decide to do less stitches, that is fine as long as you keep an even number)

R2: Ch 3, dc in all stitches

R3: Ch 3, skip the 1st stitch, Tr in the 2nd stitch. Then go back to the 1st stitch, passing your crochet hook behind the Tr stitch you have just made. Tr in this stitch. These 2 stitches then constitute one “X stitch.” Continue making X stitches until you reach the end, where you should have one stitch left. Dc in this last stitch. (For help with this stitch, see this video. Keep in mind that in the video she only does one yarn over (Dc), whereas in my pattern you do 2 yarn overs (Tr) before inserting your hook into the stitch. Otherwise the process is the same. It feels pretty awkward at first, but you’ll get the hang of it).

x_stitch

R4-5: Ch 3, dc in all stitches

R6-7: Repeat Row 3

R8-9: Ch 3, dc in all stitches

R10: Repeat Row 3

R11-12: Ch 3, dc in all stitches

R13-14: Repeat Row 3

Repeat this pattern (2 rows double crochet, 1 row X-stitch, 2 rows double crochet, 2 rows X-stitch…) until your work is approximately 33” (83 cm) wide. I ended up doing 46 rows. If you want to be able to close your shrug in the front, I would suggest making your work wider (up to 38”) unless you are a lot smaller than I am (I am 5’8” / 1.73 m with relatively broad shoulders).

Once your shrug is the desired size, fold it in half the short way (aka the “hamburger” way as I was so eloquently taught as a child), so that it measures 24″ x 33″ (61 cm x 83 cm).

Fold

With a darning needle, sew up the sides starting from the end and going towards the fold, leaving about 7” next to the fold for the arm holes (using a needle instead of single crocheting/slip stitching the sides together makes it so that the seam is less visible). Weave in the ends. Turn your shrug right side out so that the seams are hidden. Wear!

Hopefully that was clear. If not, shoot me a message!

Happy crocheting!

Allison

12 thoughts on “Maxi Shrug

  1. I was recommended this web site through my cousin. I’m no longer sure whether or not this put up is written via him as nobody else know such specific about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thank you!|

    • You’re welcome, glad you like it. To adjust this pattern, just continue your chain until it is approximately 48 inches (122 cm) long. This will be the length of your shrug (top to bottom). For a shorter shrug, chain less.

  2. I want to try this pattern but I’m a bit confused on what weight yarn to use….the ravelry site says “sport weight” but when I pull up the pattern it says “bulky weight” so which is it?? : ) thanx in advance.

    • Hi Margaret! It actually doesn’t matter what weight of yarn you use, since the pattern tells you to measure the initial chain. I would go with whichever you prefer. However, I neglected to note initially that I’m pretty tall (5’8″) so shorter people may want to chain less than I did or their shrug will probably be too long (I just added that in there today). My shrug is basically twice as long as the length from my shoulder to my waist, so you’ll probably be best off measuring that distance and doubling it.

Leave a Reply

