Granny Square Summer Bolero

So I finally got around to writing up this pattern on my computer (I figured I had better do it sooner rather than later, or I would forget how I did it!). I took notes while I was making this bolero, but they were kinda all over the place so I had to decipher them, and re-word them in order to make sure you would have less trouble than I did!

When I started making this bolero I thought it was going to be super simple and straight forward, though I’m not really sure what made me think that, since I was just making it up as I went along. At one point I really thought I wasn’t going to succeed, but I pushed through and here it is! Making the squares was easy, but knowing how many to make and how to put them together … that was where it got tricky. Hopefully with my instructions, you will get it right the first time!

For those of you that missed the last post, here is how it turned out:

Front

Front

Back

Back

Yarn weight: 3

Yarn amount: About 450 g (I messed up quite a few times, so you may end up needing less, but I prefer to be on the safe side)

Hook size: 3 mm (Crochet Hook Challenge: 7/14 – HALFWAY THERE!)

Gauge: 3 x 3 inch (7.5 cm x 7.5 cm) squares

Number of granny squares used: 66

Stitches used:

Ch = Chain

Sl st = slip stitch

Sc = single crochet

Dc = double crochet

Dc2tog = Dc decrease (2 stitches –˃ 1 stitch: Yarn over, insert hook in next stitch, yarn over and pull up loop, yarn over, draw through 2 loops. Yarn over insert hook in next stitch, yarn over and pull up loop, yarn over, draw through 2 loops. Yarn over draw through all loops on hook.) — See pictures in this post

Dc3tog = Dc decrease (3 stitches –˃ 1 stitch: Yarn over, insert hook in next stitch, yarn over and pull up loop, yarn over, draw through 2 loops. Yarn over insert hook in next stitch, yarn over and pull up loop, yarn over, draw through 2 loops. Yarn over insert hook in next stitch, yarn over and pull up loop, yarn over, draw through 2 loops. Yarn over draw through all loops on hook.) — See pictures in this post

I found this Granny Square pattern online, but I found that the way it was written was a little confusing. So I decided to re-write it slightly, and include pictures.

The pattern:

Ch 6, sl st to join. (See pictures below)

Granny Square: Step 1

R1: Ch 3. Dc2tog into ring. This counts as your first dc3tog. (See pictures below)

Granny Square: Step 2

*Ch 3, dc3tog into ring.** Repeat from * to ** 5 more times for a total of 7 dc3togs. Sl st to the top of first chain 3. (See pictures below)

Granny Square: Step 3

R2: Sl st to center of next arch. Sc into same arch. *Ch 5. Sc into next arch.** Repeat from * to ** until you are back to where you began. Dc into first sc. (Pictured below: Completed round)

Granny Square: Step 4

R3: *Ch 5. [Dc3tog, ch 3, dc3tog] into next arch, to form the first corner. Ch 5, sc into next arch.** Repeat from * to ** until you are back to where you began. Ch 2, dc into the dc that closed the previous round. You should end up with 4 corners in this round. (Pictured below: First corner)

Granny Square: Step 5

R4: *Ch 5. Sc into next arch. Ch 5. [Sc, ch 5, sc] into next arch, which should be a corner. ** Repeat from * to ** until you are back to where you began. Sl st into first ch.

Granny Square: Step 6

Here it what it looks like when it is finished (Note: This is the “right” side. You will notice, if you turn it over that it is looks slightly different. When you are joining, make sure that all the squares are facing “right” side up):

Granny Square: Finished

Joining:

Once you have finished all of your granny squares, it is time to join them. There are many different ways to join granny squares, but for this bolero I wanted to join my squares in a relatively seamless way. What I ended up doing is this:

1. Insert hook into 1st corner (making sure to crochet with the “right” side up). Sl st to attach. Sc in same corner. Ch 1.

2. Sc in 1st corner on granny square to join.

3. *Ch3. Sc in first arch. Ch 1.

4. Sc in first arch on granny square to join.** Repeat from * to ** until you have finished joining that side.

I have made a chart showing which squares to join to which other squares. I tried to make it as simple as possible, but that turned out to be relatively difficult. Hopefully you it will help you nonetheless.

I would start by joining the squares that make each each part (front right side, left right side, and back), and then join these larger parts together. Then refer to the numbers that I have put on this chart to see which squares to join.  If you have any questions or you have an idea of how to clarify this chart, please don’t hesitate to shoot me a message!

Granny Square Summer Bolero - Assembly Chart (Front)

Granny Square Summer Bolero - Assembly Chart (Back)

Border:

Once all the pieces were joined, I decided to do a border all the way around to even out the edges. Here is what I suggest doing:

1. Start in the bottom left corner (making sure to crochet with the “right” side up). Insert hook and sl st to the corner. In same corner, do 3 sc. Ch 2.

2. 3 dc in each ch 5 arch.  Ch 2.

3. 2 sc in next corner.

4. Ch 1. Sc in joining st. Ch 1.

5. 2 sc in corner. Ch 2.

Adding a button:

After trying it on, I thought it was missing a little something, so I decided to add a button. Basically, what I did was to pin the spot where I thought the button should go, and did a chain that was just long enough to go around the button in that spot. Then, I sewed the button on the opposite side. Tada! Easy as pie.

I have to admit, this post makes it look complicated, but if you take it one step at a time, I’m sure you will be able to handle it! Sorry about the lack of pictures on the joining step, but it is because I made so many mistakes in my joining that I gave up taking pictures since I never knew if it was going to turn out. Hopefully my explanations + chart will be enough.  For those of you that, like me, like to adapt patterns and make them your own, I actually worked out how to do half granny squares and triangle granny squares. In the end, I didn’t use them, but in case you want to, here they are (sorry, no pictures, but if you have got the granny square down, you should be fine):

Half Granny Square:

Ch 6, sl st to join.

R1: Follow same instructions as for full granny square, except only do 4 dc3togs instead of 7. Turn. (Note that the biggest difference between the half granny square and the full granny square is that the half granny is not worked in the round)

R2: Same. Turn.

R3: Same, except you will only do 2 corners. Turn.

R4: Same.

Triangle Granny:

Ch 6, sl st to join.

R1: Follow same instructions as for full granny square, except only do 5 dc3togs instead of 7.

R2: Same, except you will do 3 corners instead of 4.

R3: Same.

R4: Same.

And there you have it! Wow that took longer than I thought it would to explain! If any of you end up making this bolero, I would love to see how it turns out, so drop me a message and I’ll PM you my e-mail address. And, as always, if you need help with any aspect of this pattern, I am always willing to help out!

Happy crocheting!

Stay tuned for my first “made from scratch” skirt tutorial + my latest refashion!

Allison

5 thoughts on “Granny Square Summer Bolero

    • Thanks! Let me know if you have any trouble understanding my instructions. It is hard to say exactly what size it is. The back piece, once assembled, measures about 18 inches. The best thing to do I think would be to measure from shoulder to shoulder and then use more or less squares depending on if your measurement. If it helps you, I generally wear a size 40-42 in tops (I have broad shoulders) here in France. I don’t know where you are from, but according to the online conversion charts I have found it would be a size Medium or a 10 in the US and a size 12 in the UK. Hope that helps!

  1. Pingback: 10/23/14 Free Crochet Pattern Links | Free Crochet Patterns

  2. Great graphics and tutorial. I have crocheted for over 50 years and probable couldn’t have figured out the “square” without the pics. Also, love the joining/construction images. thanks very much. Might make for my granddaughters.

Leave a Reply

