4-leaf Clover Crochet Blanket

Hello again my fellow crafters!

This post has been a long time coming. Sorry for the delay – I have been taking on more projects that I can handle, and I’ve had to put blogging on the back burner.

Anyway, as I already explained, I began making this blanket for my adorable nephew this past spring. The blanket took about 3 months to make (taking into account that I was not working on it constantly, and that I was also taking time to do some other mini-projects).

My brother and his wife are nuts about Ireland, and they even gave my little nephew an Irish first name, so I thought it was only fitting to make him a 4-leaf clover blanket. I wanted to make him something that was big enough to last a few years, so that is why the blanket is not really “newborn” size.

I searched far and wide for a decent clover pattern, but I had a hard time finding something that I liked. Finally, I stumbled upon this pattern. In the post, the OP mentioned that if done in green it could resemble a clover, so I thought I’d give it a try. I didn’t actually change the pattern very drastically, I just added a stem to make it look more like a clover.

For those of your that missed my last post, here is how it turned out:

Crochet Blanket - Finished

Crochet Blanket: Close up of corner

Without further ado, here is my adapted version of the pattern with instructions:

Yarn weight: 3.5

Yarn amount: Approximately 1 skein (50g / 1.75 oz / 140m / 153 yds each) of dark green, 1 light green, 2 white for 4 squares = 12 dark green, 12 light green, 24 white. — Please note: I’m sorry I can’t promise that this is 100% accurate — I originally didn’t buy enough, then went back and bought way too much and  then returned what was left without really keeping track. Bad move on my part!! And I can’t find any estimation on the original pattern. I suggest buying too much (as long as you can return) so that you don’t run out.

Hook size: 5 mm

Gauge: 7.5 inch x 7.5 inch squares

Number of granny squares used: 48

Finished blanket size: Approximately 45 inches x 60 inches

Stitches used:

Ch = Chain

Sl st = slip stitch

Dc = double crochet

The 4-Leaf Clover Granny Square:

I made 2 versions of this granny square: 1 with a dark green clover in the center and a light green stripe, and one with a light green clover in the center and a dark green stripe.

Start out by doing with a magic circle with the dark green yarn (or light green, depending on which version you are doing). If you don’t know how to do a magic circle, check out this video.

Round 1: Ch 3, 2 dc. This is your first set. Ch 2 to make your first space(these spaces will become the corners). *3 dc, ch 2** Repeat from * to ** 2 more times for a total of 4 sets. Pull on the tail to tighten the circle. Join with a sl st. (total of 3 stitches on each side)

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: 1 Step

Round 2: Ch 3, dc in each dc around. In the spaces/corners do 2 dc, ch 2, 2 dc. Repeat until you get back to the beginning. Join with a sl st to the top of the ch 3. (total of 7 stitches on each side)

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 2

Round 3: Same as round 2, except when you get back to the beginning join with a sl st to the back loop of the beginning ch 3. Pull yarn all the way through and cut off. (total of 11 stitches on each side)

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 3

Round 4: Insert your hook with the white yarn into one of the corners. Sl st it to the corner. In the same space/corner ch 3, dc, ch 2, 2 dc. *Dc in the back loops of each dc across. In the next corner, 2 dc, ch 2, 2 dc.** Repeat from * to ** until you get back to the beginning. Join with a sl st to the top of the ch 3. (total of 14 stitches on each side)

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 4

Round 5: Ch 3, *dc in each dc around. In the corner spaces 2 dc, ch 2, 2 dc.** Repeat from * to ** until you get back to the beginning. Change colors (light green) before joining with a sl st to the top of the ch 3. (total of 18 stitches on each side)

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 5

Round 6: Same as Round 5. Switch back to white before joining with a sl st to the top of the ch 3. (total of 22 stitches on each side)

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 6

Round 7: Same as round 6. Join with a sl st to the top of the ch 3. Pull yarn all the way through, cut and tie off. (total of 26 stitches on each side)

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 7

Be sure to count your stitches, because if you accidentally miss one then you will have problems when you try to add the clover tops, and it will also be an issue when you are joining the squares together.

Now that your square is finished, it is time to do the clover tops.

Clover tops:

The reason why in Round 3 we only crocheted into the back loops is so that we could attach to clover loops by crocheting into the front loops. This felt kind of awkward to me at first, but rest assured: You will get the hang of it (especially if you are going to be making 48 of them, as I did!)

Insert your hook (with the same color as you did for the center of the square) into the first front loop on any side of Round 3 [#1]. Please note: the “first loop” is always the one on the right — because in crochet we always work from right to left.

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 8

Right side of Clover: Skip the next loop [#2], 3 dc in next two front loops [#3 & 4], skip the next front loop [#5], Sl st in the next front loop [Picture: #6].

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 9

Left side of Clover: Skip the next front loop [Picture: #7], 3 dc in next two front loops [#8 & 9], skip the next front loop [Picture: #10], sl st in the next front loop [#11].

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 10

At this point, in the original pattern, it stated that you are supposed to tie off, but given that I despise weaving in ends, and that there are already so many for each square, I decided to slip stitch down the side until I get to the first front loop of the next side. It is up to you what you prefer doing. It really isn’t noticeable, so I just decided to go with it.

Repeat this process for each of the 4 sides. When you get to the end of the last side, if you want to add a stem, as I did, follow the instructions below.

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 11

The Stem:

Sl st down to the space between the last clover top and the first one that you made. Then, working diagonally, ch 2, sc in the corner, ch 2, sc in the corner, and tie off.

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 12

Tacking down the Clover Tops:

Basically all you have to do is to sew the tops to the square so that they aren’t flopping everywhere. I would recommend using the white thread so that the back side doesn’t end up looking shabby. Be careful when sewing to only grab the back sides of the green tops so that you can’t see it on the right side.

Now all you have left to do is weave in the ends, and ta da!

You now have one 4-Leaf Clover Granny Square! One down, 47 to go!! At first it may seem like a daunting task, but once you get the hang of it you can knock them out quite quickly. I ended up doing all the squares first, and then attaching all the clover tops, and then finally, tacking them all down and weaving in the ends. It may seem monotonous to do it that way, because you’re just repeating the same process over and over again, but I think that it actually goes quicker if you do it that way because you just get in the groove.

Joining the squares:

For my blanket, I decided to alternate one light green clover with one dark green clover — each facing opposite directions — but obviously you can do as you wish in that regards.

To join my squares together, I basically laid them all out as I wanted them, then stacked the squares in the order I wanted them, 1 pile per row.

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 13

I started by joining one row of squares at a time — right sides together. There are many ways to join granny squares, but I decided to try slip stitching the insides loops together (see method #2 of this tutorial for instructions).

Once I had my rows of granny squares, I joined each of the rows together using the same method.

4-Leaf Clover Granny Square: Step 14

I wanted to do a border to finish off my blanket and make it seem more unified, so I decided to do 1 row of white dcs, followed by one row of light green dcs and one row of dark green dcs. For the corners, I used the same technique as I did for the individual squares.

Here is the finished product, once again:

Crochet Blanket - Finished

I am quite happy with the result, and I hope my darling nephew will get good use out of it!

This tutorial turned out to be much longer than I originally imagined, so I won’t add any unnecessary length to it by blabbering on further.

If any of my instructions are unclear, don’t hesitate to drop me a line!

Happy crocheting!

Allison

2 thoughts on “4-leaf Clover Crochet Blanket

  1. I made this for a senior group we meet twice a week. I made a lap robe using 16 squares. Were raffling it off for t counsel of ages. Ur directions were great thank u.

Leave a Reply

