The Infinitely Easy Scarf

Hey guys! Happy 2014!

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written a new post, I’ve been on somewhat of a crafting hiatus due to personal events that I would rather not get into.

In an attempt to pull myself out of my un-creative slump, I have decided to finally write up this tutorial that has been gathering dust for the past few months.

This infinity scarf is so quick and easy, even the most inexperienced sewist could tackle it  — I’m living proof! Back in August, I ended up making 15 of them in one week!

Materials:

– 1.5 meters (1.6 yards) of fabric

– Matching thread

– Pinking shears (optional)

The Infinitely Easy Scarf:

1. Cut your fabric to the desired width depending on how bulky you want your scarf to be. For a thinner scarf, I recommend 70 cm (27 inches). For a more full scarf, I recommend a width of at least 85 cm (33 inches). It really just depends on your personal preference.

2. Fold the fabric in half the long way, right sides together.

Infinity Scarf: Step 1

3. Sew along the long edge.

4. If you have pinking shears -cut next along the edge you sewed using to prevent the fabric from fraying (unless you are using a fabric that doesn’t fray). If you don’t have pinking shears (like I didn’t when I did the first few scarves), just sew along the edge with a zig-zag stitch, and then cut off the excess fabric with a normal scissors, making sure not to cut too close to your seam.

5. Turn the tube that you have just created right side out.

6. Cut along the short ends with your pinking shears or sew around the edges using a zig zag stitch to prevent fraying.

7. Match up the seams of each end and start pinning around in a circle (Note: You should only be pinning through 2 layers of fabric – one on each side, not 4 layers.) At some point, it will become too hard to keep pinning around the edges.

Infinity Scarf

Infinity Scarf

8. Sew around the edges that you pinned until you can go any further.

9. Hand sew the rest of the way around using an invisible stitch (see this tutorial for help)

10. Tie off.

Ta da! Pretty easy wasn’t it?

Sorry I was in a hurry and didn’t take a picture of the finished product … and I haven’t gotten around to making one for myself yet. I still have some fabric left though, so I should get around to that one of these days…

Happy crafting!

Allison

2 thoughts on “The Infinitely Easy Scarf

Leave a Reply

