A Very Belated Alice in Wonderland Halloween Costume Tutorial

As you may or may not be aware, I am a huge fan of dressing up for Halloween. Ever since I was little, I took great joy in making my own Halloween costume. Sometimes I even started making my costume as early as August. For me, the creation process was always (more than) half the fun.

Upon arriving here in France, I discovered, to my dismay, that people don’t really go down for that sort of thing here. Furthermore, the people that do actually dress up for Halloween, think that you HAVE to dress up like something scary. So for the past few years, I’ve made it my personal duty to bring the goodness of Halloween to the Frenchies by throwing an all-out Halloween Bash.

This year, I decided the time had finally come to embody my childhood hero: Alice in Wonderland. As a child, I was convinced the name of the movie was Allison Wonderland (First name: Allison, last name: Wonderland), which is probably why I liked it so much to begin with (it is also the origin of my blog name, if you hadn’t figured that out by now).

For some unknown reason, I had the hardest time finding the right color fabric for my costume. The only thing I could find in a similar shade of light blue was these 2 t-shirts, so what choice did I have? I bought a white t-shirt for the apron, and I decided to give it my best!

The Dress:

Alice in Wonderland

One of the shirts would become the top half of my dress, and the other would become the “skirt.” Since I didn’t have a pattern, I used a dress that fits me pretty well and just traced the shape of it onto my 2 t-shirts.

Alice in Wonderland 2

To begin with, I left the sides alone, and just dealt with the length. I cut off the top part of the “skirt” and the bottom half of the “top.” I actually ended up cutting the skirt a little shorter than I had intended, but nothing too scandelous.

DSCN3924

DSCN3925

Then, I pinned top half to the skirt, and sewed all the way around.

DSCN3927

The next thing I did was to sew up the sides where I had traced earlier, to make the dress more fitted.

Once that was done, I cut off the sleeves.

DSCN3932

This was the hard part (for me) because I’d never made sleeves before. I decided to use the original sleeves to avoir re-sewing the hem. On my first try, things didn’t really work out, so luckily I had another 2 to work with. I ended up finding some tutorial on how to make sleeves, which I can’t for the life of me find now (which is why I should’ve done this tutorial MONTHS ago. Shame on me.) However, this one looks like it would work out just as nicely.

Then I pinned the sleeves to the sleeve holes, and sewed all the way around.

DSCN3935

The only thing that was hard was that the sleeves were too small to fit around my sewing arm, so I had to do some tricky maneuvering with the fabric as I was sewing it.

Originally, I had planned on doing a peter pan collar with a piece of white fabric, but after multiple failed attempts I gave up and decided to just throw on a white button-up shirt with a collar underneath the dress. If any of you have tips on how to make a peter pan collar with rounded edges, please bring them my way!

That was pretty much it for the dress! I wanted to make something simple enough that I may actually want to wear it again in a non-Halloween context.

Check it out:

Alice in Wonderland Dress

The Apron:

This is when my picture-taking got to be a bit sparse/non-existant. Sorry guys, it’s just that I get so caught up in the moment that I forget to take pictures of each step (Read: I had no idea what I was doing so I didn’t really know whether or not it was worth it to take pictures).

As per usual, I mixed and matched a bunch of tutorials that I stumbled upon until I ended up with what I was looking for. I used this video for the skirt and sash part.

I used this costume as my inspiration for the top and back of my apron.

Here it what it looks like:

Laid flat

Laid flat

With the back flap tucked under

With the back flap tucked under

The only thing I would do differently would be to buy 2 white shirts, because the sash was a little on the short side. I would’ve liked to be able to tie it in a big bow.

Here’s what they look like together:

Alice in Wonderland Costume

Accessories:

Once I was finished with the dress and the headband, all that was left was a few accessories.

– Tall white socks

– White button-up shirt with collar

– Blonde wig

– Black headband (which I actually made myself! See this tutorial to find out how)

– Black shoes

And presto, chango Allison became Alice! Check out the finished result:

Alice in Wonderland Costume

And yes, I did make cheesy Alice in Wonderland decorations!!

Happy (belated) Halloween!

Allison

Leave a Reply

