Live and let dye

Unsure what to do with those dingy old white shirts/skirts/pants that have seen better days? Bored with your wardrobe and looking for an easy refashion to make old clothing seem new again?

Look no further — dyeing is the answer!

I have been a fan of dyeing clothes for pretty much forever. In fact, it has been a crafting staple at my summer cabin since as far back as I can remember.

In my pile of to-be-refashioned clothes, there were quite a few white / off-white / light grey items, so I decided to dye them and see how they turned out.

The first item I dyed was this pair of previously white pants. While these pants fit me quite well, I had a hard time actually figuring out when to wear them. This may or may not have to do with the fact that as a child I was traumatized by the whole no-white-after-labor-day rule (Is that still a thing?). Not to mention that there was a little mishap with my clothes hanger, which was rusted in some spots, and I was never able to get out the stains.

I decided that it was about time that I mix up my blue and green dominated wardrobe with some burgundy, so I threw the pants in the washer with some dye and salt, and the dye gods did the rest!

dyed_pants_before_and_after

 

When I first took the pants out of the washer, I have to admit that I was disappointed that the color didn’t take everywhere. I even tried dyeing them a second time, to no avail.

Instead of stewing over the imperfect result, I decided to embrace it and pass it off as a purposeful tie-dye-like effect.

So why didn’t they dye evenly everywhere? My guess is that the jeans were treated with something when they were originally made that repels dye. That would explain why the dye was absorbed evenly everywhere except in strategic places.

So what do you think? Beautiful mess or hot mess? You be the judge.

Allison

3 thoughts on “Live and let dye

Leave a Reply

