Floral Circle Skirt

Remember last summer when I decided to make 20+ scarves in the span of one week? While I did end up reaching my goal, I never actually got around to making any for myself, as I had originally planned, so I had a bunch of beautiful fabric left over.

I guess I could have just made myself a scarf, like I originally intended, but that would’ve just been too easy! So I decided to make myself a skirt.

Now, this skirt really should have been easy. What went wrong, you may wonder?

Problem #1:

1. While the fabric was and is really beautiful, it turns out that it is see-through. While that was not an issue when I used it for a scarf, it is less desirable when used for a skirt.

The fix:

I undid some of my stitching, went back added a lining. While it was a bit of a pain, it worked!

Problem #2:

I used another skirt I had to measure it, and because this particular skirt is a little on the short side, I decided to add a little length, but I forgot to take into account the hem, so it ended up being about the same length as the original skirt.

The fix:

I went back to the fabric store and bought some lace edging, which I added to the bottom of the lining. I actually think it looks really cute!

I hope that you will learn from my mistakes, and it will be easy for you! Without these 2 big slip ups, the entire thing probably wouldn’t have taken more than a couple hours. To make your own, follow these easy steps:

Step 1:

Find a circle skirt that you like, and trace the shape onto a large piece of paper. If you don’t have pattern paper, try using wrapping paper.

Step 2:

Measure around your waist. Divide that number by 2. (If you are using a stretchy fabric, you will need to cut the fabric smaller than the actual measurement of your waist.) Draw a rectangle onto the paper using that measurement for the length, and 5 inches for the width.

Step 3: 

Trace your pattern pieces onto your fabric. Cut out 2 rectangles and 2 skirts. If your fabric is transparent, like mine, cut out 2 more skirts in the lining fabric.

step1

step2

Step 4:

Next, pin and sew the sides of your skirt. For the lining, I would suggest pinning and sewing it separately, and then attaching it later on when you sew the waist. Otherwise, it may weigh down your skirt and take away from the flowy-ness of it (Yes, you read that right. I said flowy-ness).

step3

Step 5:

Sew the short sides of the rectangles together, to form the waistband.

Step 6: 

Now it’s time to connect the skirt to the waistband. Like I said before, if you are adding a lining, ideally you would do it at this step. To do so, flip your skirt so the right side is facing out. Then, put your lining inside it, and line up the sides and the waist. Then, fold your waistband in half the long way. Right sides together, and raw edges facing upwards, pin the waistband to the skirt. (Please note that the picture below was taken before I added the lining).

step4

Step 7:

Now it’s time to add the zipper! (If you’re using a stretchy fabric, you can probably forgo this step.) I chose to add an exposed zipper to facilitate things. All you really have to do is baste-stitch the zipper to the middle of the back of your dress, and then use your zipper foot to sew along each side. I usually baste-stitch using a contrasting thread so I can easily find it to remove it afterwards.

step5

Step 8:

Once you have sewn the zipper, turn your skirt inside out and cut between the two sewed lines with your pinking shears.

step6

step7

Step 9:

Fold the bottom edge under, pin and sew around it to make your hem. Do the same for the lining (Once again, do not sew the lining and the top layer together, this will weigh down the skirt.), making sure that the lining doesn’t stick out from underneath the top layer (unless you want it to). If you want to add lace, like I did, just pin the lace around the edge of the lining before you sew the hem, and sew through all the layers at once.

step8

Now for the big reveal:

finished

finished2

As always, sorry for the poor image quality! Wish I had a better camera and a more willing photographer (Donations and applications accepted)!

I’ve got more projects in the works, so stay tuned!

Allison

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Floral Circle Skirt

Leave a Reply

